The Mayor of Wolverhampton is elected at the Annual Meeting of the Council (usually in May each year). The Mayor serves for the whole of the Municipal Year until the next Annual Meeting.

Councillor Sandra Samuels OBE

Cllr Linda Leach is the 165th Mayor of Wolverhampton and the current Deputy Mayor is Councillor Craig Collingswood.

Wolverhampton's first Mayor, G. B. Thorneycroft, was elected in 1848.

The Mayor is the First Citizen in the City and the Office of Mayor is the highest honour the local authority can give an elected Councillor.