The independent Local Government Boundary Commission England (the Commission) is asking for residents’ help to create a new pattern of electoral wards in Wolverhampton.


We held a Community Briefing session for those wanting a say on the council’s Electoral Review. This took place on the 14th January. To learn more about the review taking place and ways to have your say.

The full briefing can be seen on the Councils YouTube channel, Wolverhampton Today

View the briefing


The initial public consultation on warding patterns ended on 29 March. The LGBCE published their draft recommendations on 29 June. The public consultation on the draft recommendation closes on 6 September. The draft recommendations can be viewed on the commission's website below. A map to show the proposed changes against the existing wards can be downloaded from the downloads section.                                                                     

To find out more about the ongoing review, please visit Wolverhampton - The Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

What are electoral wards?

Wolverhampton is currently divided into 20 wards, these are local areas, such as ‘St Peters’ or ‘Ettingshall’. Each one is represented on the council by three councillors who are elected every four years to represent the best interests of the residents in their ward. Some council services and also neighbourhood policing are organised by ward.

In drawing up the new wards, the Commission aims to ensure that each councillor represents roughly the same number of voters.

The review will also try to create wards that as far as possible reflect the interests and identities of communities across Wolverhampton.

Why are the wards being reviewed?

Since the last review in 2003, the population in some of the wards has grown more than others and there is more development taking place.

Your views about the boundaries are therefore important in ensuring effective governance for Wolverhampton in future.

The Commission would like to hear opinions on:

  • the number of wards
  • the names of wards
  • where the boundaries between wards should lie
  • the number of councillors for each ward.

How will the consultation work?

The consultation is in two stages, during the first stage (14 January to 29 March) residents are asked to submit ideas about where the ward boundaries should be drawn. The Commission will consider all the representations and draw up a new scheme. During the second stage of consultation (28 June to 06 September 2021) residents will be invited to comment on the proposed scheme which will be introduced in time for the elections in May 2022. The Council will be responding to both stages of the consultation and it proposed response will be published on its website.

You can make an online submission on the Commission’s website or send your views by email to or by post to:

LGBCE c/o Cleardata Innovation House, Coniston Court Riverside Business Park, Blyth NE24 4RP