Before the Blakenhall Ward By-election on Thursday (2 May, 2013) Wolverhampton City Council is reminding voters of simple steps to take to ensure they can have their say.

Although there are elections taking place in many other parts of the country this week, Blakenhall is the only area of Wolverhampton going to the polls, with the by-election called following the resignation of former councillor Bob Jones.

David Garner, Senior Elections and Electoral Registration Officer, said: "It's important that people are able to have their say on who sits on their council and so we are encouraging people in Blakenhall to take the time to vote."

The council offers the following advice to potential voters:

  • Make sure you are registered to vote. People need to be on the electoral register and be aged 18 or over on polling day and a British, Irish, EU or qualifying Commonwealth citizen. Registration forms should have been completed and returned by 17 April.
  • Check where you should vote. Details of your local polling station will be on your poll card. If you have not received it or are unsure of where to go please call 01902 551177. Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday.
  • Bring your poll card with you to the polling station, it may speed things up. You can still vote without it, however.
  • Follow the instructions on the ballot paper carefully. If you're unsure of how to complete your ballot paper, a member of staff will be able to advise you.
  • If you applied for a postal vote, make sure it is returned by 10pm on Thursday. If you have left it too late to post back, you can drop it off at your polling station or at Wolverhampton City Council's Civic Centre.

For more information on voting and the elections visit Type=links;Linkid=1645;Title=The Electoral Commission;Target=_blank; . The site also includes a virtual polling station which also explains what to do when you go to vote on Thursday.

Standing for election in the Blakenhall Ward By-election are Harbans Singh Bagri (Labour Party), Eileen Lavina Birch (Liberal Democrats), Stephen Dion (Conservative Party) and David Mackintosh (UK Independence Party).

  • released: Monday 29 April, 2013