Four more Wolverhampton sports stars are set to be inducted into the city's Sporting Hall of Fame during a celebratory event later this month.

Kristian Thomas and Stuart Dangerfield have represented the city in gymnastics and cycling respectively and have many accomplishments in their sports. 

Paralympic athlete, Mark Farnell, will also be inaugurated at the ceremony on Saturday 22 September, along with the city's only winter Olympian, Andrew Booton.

The City of Wolverhampton Council and the Wolverhampton City Sports Advisory Council launched the Sporting Hall of Fame in 1999 to recognise and celebrate the achievements of sportsmen and women who have represented the city on an international stage.

Chairman of Wolverhampton's Sports Advisory Council, Peter Holmes MBE, said: "We are looking forward to inducting 4 more inspirational Wulfrunians into our Sporting Hall of Fame.

"They are individuals who have performed with great success on a world stage and have been true ambassadors of everything that is good about the city of Wolverhampton."

Kristian Thomas, who is from Wednesfield, represented Great Britain in the Olympic Games in 2012 where the country came third and again in 2016 where he captained the squad to fourth place.

He has also won a number of gold, silver and bronze medals whilst representing his country in the Commonwealth Games and European Championships. He has now retired from competition.

Stuart Dangerfield was a member of Wolverhampton Wheelers Cycling Club and has represented the country in the Olympic Games, Commonwealth Games and World Time Trials. In 2001, he broke the British record for the 10 mile time trial.

Visually impaired athlete Mark Farnell will be the first Paralympian to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Mark ran his first marathon in 1981, and since then has taken part in a further 81 marathons where he has represented the country numerous times in the Paralympic Games, World Para Athletics Championships and Para Athletics European Championships.

Andrew Booton is Wolverhampton's only winter Olympian and competed in the games in 1992 as part of the bobsleigh team. He took up the sport after responding to a magazine advert asking for civilians to train with the Armed Forces to qualify for the British Bobsleigh team.

Previous inductees include athlete Denise Lewis, racing driver Richard Atwood and Wolves footballers Bert Williams and Billy Wright.

This year's ceremony will take place on Saturday 22 September at WV Active Aldersley where the Sporting Hall of Fame books and wall plaques are displayed.

Councillor Steve Evans, the City of Wolverhampton Council's Cabinet Member for City Environment, said: "The City of Wolverhampton has a long history of producing top level sportspeople and we are delighted to celebrate their achievements through our Sporting Hall of Fame, which is proudly held at WV Active Aldersley.

"I would like to congratulate Kristian, Stuart, Mark and Andrew on their successes, and welcome them into Wolverhampton's Sporting Hall of Fame."

  • released: Monday 3 September, 2018