City of Wolverhampton Council’s Leader and Cabinet were appointed at the council's Annual General Meeting last night (Wednesday 15 May, 2024).

Councillor Stephen Simkins was re-elected Leader of the City of Wolverhampton Council and the new Cabinet was appointed as follows:

  • Leader of the City of Wolverhampton Council – Cllr Stephen Simkins
  • Deputy Leader, Cabinet Member for City Housing – Cllr Steve Evans 
  • Cabinet Member for Governance and Equalities – Paula Brookfield
  • Cabinet Member for Resources – Cllr Louise Miles
  • Cabinet Member for Children, Young People and Education – Cllr Jacqui Coogan
  • Cabinet Member for Adults and Wellbeing – Jasbir Jaspal
  • Cabinet Member for Digital and Community – Cllr Obaida Ahmed,
  • Cabinet Member for Resident Services – Cllr Bhupinder Gakhal,
  • Cabinet Member for City Development, Jobs and Skills – Cllr Chris Burden
  • Cabinet Member for Transport and Green City – Cllr Qaiser Azeem

Leader of the Council, Councillor Stephen Simkins, said: “I am delighted to announce my new Cabinet that will help deliver our bold plans for the fantastic people of Wolverhampton.

“We know what matters most to our residents and businesses in our city and we are geared up to deliver for them with our ambitious agenda.

“We will continue to support our communities and prioritise providing excellent services for our residents. We will also carry on supporting local businesses and grow the local economy by investing in our city and town centres while ensuring children and young people are given the best start in life and help Wulfrunians to live longer and healthier lives.”