Councillor Dr Michael Hardacre was officially elected Wolverhampton's 164th Mayor at the City of Wolverhampton Council's Annual General Meeting last night (Wednesday 17 May, 2023).

Councillor Hardacre, a Labour member for Park Ward and a well known former headteacher, said: "I am delighted to have the privilege of being the Mayor of Wolverhampton for the forthcoming civic year.

"Being Mayor will be a real honour, and I am looking forward to being an ambassador for the people of our great city over the next 12 months."

His wife Lynn Plant is the city's new Mayoress. Meanwhile, Councillor Linda Leach, former Cabinet Member for Adult Services, was elected Deputy Mayor for 2023-24 with her husband Pete as Deputy Consort.

During the AGM, Councillor Ian Brookfield was re-elected council leader. The new Cabinet was also appointed and is as follows:

  • Leader of the City of Wolverhampton Council, Councillor Ian Brookfield
  • Deputy Leader, Cabinet Member for Inclusive City Economy, Steve Simkins
  • Cabinet Member for Jobs and Skills, Louise Miles
  • Cabinet Member for Environment and Climate Change, Craig Collingswood
  • Cabinet Member for Children, Young People and Education, Chris Burden
  • Cabinet Member for Governance and Equalities, Paula Brookfield
  • Cabinet Member for Resources, Obaida Ahmed  
  • Cabinet Member for City Housing, Steve Evans
  • Cabinet Member for Adults and Wellbeing, Jasbir Jaspal
  • Cabinet Member for Visitor City, Bhupinder Gakhal.