The cream of crop will be celebrated when Wolverhampton City Sports Advisory Council holds its annual awards ceremony at Fordhouses Cricket Club tomorrow night (Tuesday 14 November, 2023)

There are a range of categories including coach of the year, volunteer of the year, under 21 volunteer of the year, disabled player/athlete of the year, veteran of the year (over 60), team or club of the year, 50 years a club/team/league (for continued playing of the sport), community team/club/league of the year, the Jeff Coleman Memorial Trophy, the RV Cook Memorial Trophy, the HE Lane Memorial Trophy and the Ted Hayward Memorial Trophy for Sportsperson/Club of the Year. There will also be Awards of Merit given out for contribution to sport within Wolverhampton.

As this is the first awards ceremony since the Covid-19 pandemic, there will be more winners than usual, with a total of 24 individuals and teams set to be given recognition tomorrow.

They will receive their awards from the Mayor of Wolverhampton, Councillor Dr Michael Hardacre, and Mayoress Lynn Plant. Mayor Councillor Hardacre said: "I am very pleased to have been given the honour by the Wolverhampton City Sports Advisory Council of presenting this year's winners with their awards, and to hearing about some of the brilliant things that are happening in our city's sporting community."

Peter Holmes MBE, Chair of Wolverhampton City Sports Advisory Council, said: “Wolverhampton is very fortunate in having sporting and recreational clubs who contribute to the life of the city. The clubs are staffed by volunteers who without their contribution sport would not exist.

“This is an opportunity for clubs to recognise its members and nominate them for Civic recognition. I look forward, with the Mayor and Mayoress, to meeting our nominees at the awards evening, and I would like to thank Fordhouses Cricket Club for affording us the hospitality and hosting the event.”