More than 9,000 votes were cast in this year's Youth Elections - and the successful candidates can now be revealed.

Type=image;ImageID=3860;ImageClass=left;ImageTitle=New Members of the Youth Parliament;TitleClass=strong;

Type=image;ImageID=3861;ImageClass=left;ImageTitle=The successful candidates;TitleClass=strong;

Twenty seven young people stood for office, with the 2014 to 2015 Youth MPs and Youth Councillors officially announced last week (3 April, 2014).

Elected as Members of the Youth Parliament were Kashmire Hawker and Arnold Majecha, with Kelsey Edwards and Paul Kazadi named Deputy MPs.

Meanwhile, 11 young people were elected as Youth Councillors: Cameron Peart, Ebony Haycock, Talisha McDonald, Jacob Bloomer, Tanya Kasinganeti, Alisha Chumbar, Sana Malik, Adam Martin, Javaughn Spencer, Pamela Chibanguza and Madison Hughes.

Councillor Val Gibson, Wolverhampton City Council's Cabinet Member for Children and Families, said: "I'd like to congratulate all the successful candidates and wish them every success as they take on important roles as Youth Councillors and Youth MPs - I look forward to working closely with them in the future.

"Youth Elections have been held in Wolverhampton for more than 25 years. In that time, young people have helped to shape local services by informing decision makers about the needs of young people in the city. But their reputation goes wider than Wolverhampton and they are actively involved on national forums.

"Young people are increasingly beginning to move from the Youth Council into adult elections and former members are standing for both the Labour and Conservative parties at this year's elections."

She added: "A total of 9,084 votes were cast this year, which goes to show how important the Youth Elections - and the job that the Youth MPs and Youth Councillors carry out - are to the city's young people."

  • released: Thursday 10 April, 2014