Search site

Meet the new Mayor

Long-serving Wolverhampton Councillor Mike Heap has been officially elected as the city's 156th Mayor for the next municipal year.

The Mayor of Wolverhampton, Councillor Mike Heap, and the Mayoress, Mrs Frances Heap
The new Mayor and Mayoress

Councillor Heap, who has been the elected member for Spring Vale since 1999, was sworn into the role last night (Wednesday 4 June).

His wife, Mrs Frances Heap will serve as Mayoress. They were both unanimously voted in at the Mayor making ceremony during the annual full council meeting, in front of family, friends and fellow councillors.

His chosen charities for the year are Mencap Wolverhampton, Wolverhampton Interfaith and Regeneration Network and Breast Care Nurses Trust Fund at New Cross Hospital.

During the ceremony, which was held in the Council Chamber for the first time, Labour Councillors Ian and Paula Brookfield were named Deputy Mayor and Mayoress respectively.

The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Ian Brookfield, and the Deputy Mayoress, Councillor Paula Brookfield
The new Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayoress

Councillor Heap, a father of 3 and grandfather of 8, said: "It is a great honour and privilege to be elected as Mayor of this great city. 

"My theme for the year is 'Hope' and our sole concern will be for Wolverhampton.

"There is good reason to be optimistic and with that in mind and the 3 Mayoral Charities will be as follows.

"Firstly, Mencap Wolverhampton. For 50 years pioneers, including Margaret Polack, Jim Benton (the brother of former Mayor Margaret Benton) and late Councillor Robert Ward, campaigned to improve the lot for people with learning disabilities. The mantle has now been taken up successfully by Tony Chilvers and his committee.

"The second charity is Wolverhampton Interfaith and Regeneration Network.  Nothing is perfect, but I believe that this city is a great example to the rest of the country for religious tolerance and race relations.

"A great deal of credit for this is due to Harun Rashid, the Chairman, and his colleagues from all religious denominations throughout the city for this remarkable achievement. 

"Thirdly, there are at least 2 Mayoresses, a member of the team, many council staff members and a host of women in the area who have received lifesaving operations and superb care from Brian Isgar and his inspirational team at the Breast Care Nurses Trust Fund at New Cross Hospital.

"All these charities give hope in Wolverhampton and I am sure they will receive the support they deserve throughout the Year."

During the ceremony, thanks were given to retiring Mayor Councillor Milkinder Jaspal and Mayoress Councillor Jasbir Jaspal, who were presented with commemorative medallions.

Among the Mayor's first duties was to welcome new councillors Mary Bateman, Greg Brackenridge and Daniel Warren, who were elected last month.

Meanwhile, Councillor Roger Lawrence, leader of the council, confirmed the Cabinet as follows:

  • Councillor Peter Bilson, Cabinet Member for Economic Regeneration and Prosperity
  • Councillor Elias Mattu, Cabinet Member for Leisure and Communities
  • Councillor Steve Evans, Cabinet Member for Adult Services
  • Councillor Phil Page, Cabinet Member for Schools, Skills and Learning
  • Councillor Val Gibson, Cabinet Member for Children and Families
  • Councillor John Reynolds, Cabinet Member for City Services
  • Councillor Andrew Johnson, Cabinet Member for Resources
  • Councillor Sandra Samuels, Cabinet Member for Health and Well Being
  • Councillor Paul Sweet, Cabinet Member for Governance and Performance
  • released: Thursday 5 June, 2014